NSPIRE Wire is independent and not affiliated with HUD.
Chicago officials and development partners marked an October 13 groundbreaking at the former LeClaire Courts public-housing site in Garfield Ridge, moving a long-planned redevelopment to a new public milestone. The city describes the development as the first phase of a broader plan for 725 homes. Local reporting from the ceremony describes two six-story apartment buildings and a target of completing the initial phase in 2028. The event follows an earlier financing closing, not a new announcement that every future phase is funded.
The public accounts do not agree on the initial housing count. Chicago's October 13 release describes 138 homes, including 124 affordable and 14 market-rate apartments. The Chicago Housing Authority's August 3 closing announcement describes 183 homes, including 91 CHA project-based voucher apartments, 74 other affordable apartments and 18 market-rate units. The cited records do not explain the difference in scope.
ABC7's October 13 coverage quotes developer Martin Cabrera describing 183 new affordable units, while CBS Chicago reports about 180 mixed-income apartments. The CHA account supplies a mixed-income breakdown rather than describing all 183 units as affordable. The consistent new development is the groundbreaking at a site vacant since 2011. The conflicting counts do not justify choosing whichever total produces the strongest headline.
The redevelopment concerns the former LeClaire Courts site near Cicero Avenue and 44th Street on Chicago's Southwest Side. The city says the site has been vacant for 15 years. CHA's August closing announcement and the October local coverage identify 2011 as the year the earlier public-housing development was demolished. The groundbreaking therefore marks a return of housing development to a former public-housing location, rather than an isolated apartment proposal on an unrelated parcel.
CBS Chicago describes the broader site as 32 acres and says the apartment construction is phase one of plans to revitalize it. The city places the development in a larger housing and neighborhood plan, with future uses including grocery and medical-office development. Those future uses are planned context. The ceremony does not establish that a grocery tenant has signed a lease or that every commercial use in the broader plan is under construction.
The distinction between current phase and broader redevelopment matters. Chicago describes 725 homes in the larger plan, while local reporting uses approximately 700. Neither figure is the number of homes completed at the October event. A multiphase concept may include projects that proceed at different times and under different financing arrangements. The first ceremony cannot be treated as delivery of the entire neighborhood plan.
The city's October 13 release calls the project LeClaire Courts North Apartments and locates it at 4400-58 South Cicero Avenue. It describes 110 units in the North building and 28 in the South building. Its listed bedroom mix is 22 studios, 84 one-bedroom apartments, 28 two-bedroom apartments and four three-bedroom apartments. Those counts sum to the city's 138-home description.
The release says 124 of those homes would be affordable and 14 market-rate. It lists affordable units serving households at 15%, 30%, 50%, 60% and 80% of area median income. It does not specify how many apartments are assigned to each income tier in the cited text. The tiers show a range of intended affordability, but they are not a complete leasing schedule or a published application process.
Chicago's release also identifies approximately 16,500 square feet of commercial space. About 14,000 square feet in the North building is expected to be leased by Chicago Commons, which provides early-childhood education and services for seniors and vulnerable adults. Another 2,500 square feet in the South building is retail space with no tenant identified. An expected lease and an unidentified tenant are different stages of commercial planning.
CHA's August 3 announcement says it closed LeClaire A-North and LeClaire A-South, describing them as the first redevelopment phase. It places two six-story buildings at 4809 West 44th Street and 4442 South Cicero Avenue. Its 183-home total includes 91 CHA project-based voucher apartments, 74 affordable apartments and 18 market-rate apartments. That breakdown provides a direct HUD-program connection through the voucher component.
The authority says residents would have modern layouts, shared community spaces and on-site amenities. Its announcement also describes commercial space including an early-childhood center. It identifies Cabrera Capital Partners and The Habitat Company as developers and anticipated construction beginning in August with completion in 2028. The October ceremony is a later milestone; the earlier expected start date does not establish when all construction actually began.
Block Club Chicago's October 5 report also describes 183 homes and attributes a bedroom mix of 25 studios, 114 one-bedrooms, 40 two-bedrooms and four three-bedrooms to CHA's chief of staff. That mix differs from the city's October release. The accounts may describe differently financed portions or different project scopes, but the cited records do not establish that explanation. Treating the difference as resolved would introduce an unsupported assumption.
The city identifies $15 million in its own financing: $9.5 million in Department of Housing multifamily loan funds and $5.5 million in Cicero/Stevenson tax-increment financing. These are identified components of the financing, not a statement that $15 million is the full development cost. The release also names CHA, the Illinois Housing Development Authority and Bank of America as financing partners.
Chicago says the development received an approximately $3.61 million allocation of 4% Low-Income Housing Tax Credits through IHDA, expected to generate approximately $34.29 million in equity. The credit allocation and expected investor equity are related but different figures. The allocation and equity are not two independent cash contributions. The release's expected equity amount is the appropriate attributed figure for its description.
Block Club's October 5 report provides a wider financing account, including a $27 million CHA loan, $33.7 million in federal tax-credit equity, $1.25 million in Illinois Affordable Housing Tax Credit equity and a deferred developer fee. It attributes part of that account to a late-September Habitat release and describes a $127 million first phase. These figures are earlier reported context and do not exactly match every amount in the city announcement.
ABC7 reports that former LeClaire Courts residents attended the groundbreaking and quotes Cabrera describing opportunities for them to return alongside new neighbors. Former resident Jacqueline Perkins described continuing friendships and annual reunions at the field house after demolition. That account gives the redevelopment a community-continuity dimension, but it does not establish a specific right-to-return policy, application priority or guaranteed placement for every former household.
A promise of opportunity is different from a documented tenant-selection commitment. The cited reports do not provide a final relocation agreement, preference schedule or eligibility determination for an individual former resident. The developer described return opportunities, and former residents participated in the ceremony. Detailed access rules will need their own authoritative program and leasing information.
The CHA voucher component is also distinct from the other affordable and market-rate units in its count. CHA explicitly labels 91 apartments as project-based voucher homes in its August announcement. That does not mean every apartment in the broader redevelopment will carry a voucher. A single subsidy breakdown is not established without clarification of which properties and financing components each description covers.
The first-phase accounts consistently describe an early-childhood center or education-related community space. Chicago Commons is identified in the city's release as the expected North-building tenant. This adds a neighborhood-serving use to the housing plan rather than simply increasing the apartment count. However, the announcement does not specify the center's opening date, enrollment process or how many children the eventual facility will serve.
The broader former LeClaire site also contains development outside the new apartment phase. Block Club describes a Cultivate Collective project completed over 2022 and 2023, with a school, federally qualified health center and farm. That earlier work is historical context, not a new October 13 accomplishment. It is not additional housing or financing newly secured at the groundbreaking.
The city's future grocery and medical-office references and the first-phase retail space describe different pieces of the neighborhood plan. The release does not establish that all these uses are part of one signed construction contract or that a grocer has been selected. The release identifies the South-building retail tenant as unresolved. Future announcements could clarify tenants, construction scope and delivery dates for later phases.
ABC7 reports a first-half 2028 completion target, while CBS and CHA describe completion in 2028 more generally. These accounts support describing 2028 as the expected horizon, with the more precise first-half target attributed to local reporting. They do not establish a guaranteed move-in date, a completed inspection or a resident application window. A construction ceremony does not supply those later milestones.
The October event is worthwhile news because it moves a large former public-housing redevelopment beyond financing announcements to a public groundbreaking. At the same time, the available records leave material scope questions open. The 138-home city description and 183-home CHA description remain distinct, as do earlier and newer tax-credit-equity figures. Housing professionals need those distinctions to understand the project rather than a falsely tidy total.
The next useful records would clarify the relationship between the city-backed component and the full first phase, confirm final unit and subsidy counts, and provide construction and leasing milestones. Until then, the grounded result is a new groundbreaking at LeClaire Courts with substantial city and tax-credit support. The larger redevelopment remains multiphase, and the cited public accounts do not establish one fully reconciled housing count.
Chicago marked an October 13 groundbreaking at the former LeClaire Courts public-housing site.
The city describes 138 homes, including 124 affordable; CHA describes a 183-home first phase with 91 voucher apartments. The scopes are not reconciled.
Chicago identifies $15 million in city financing and expected federal tax-credit equity of about $34.29 million.
Local reporting targets 2028 completion and describes return opportunities for former residents, not guaranteed placements.
The broader redevelopment remains multiphase. Final scope, subsidy counts and leasing milestones require clarification.
Editorial Desk
The NSPIRE Wire Editorial Desk publishes source-verified reporting and analysis covering HUD policy, NSPIRE inspections, affordable housing finance, development, transactions, and the people shaping the industry.
Know something we should know? Have documents, corrections, or related developments on this topic? Send an editorial tip to our reporters.