NSPIRE Wire is independent and not affiliated with HUD.
Boise has secured a $9 million federal award for The Fulton, a planned 50-home permanent supportive housing development for people exiting homelessness. The city announced the award on October 6, 2026, identifying the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's Continuum of Care Builds program as the funding source. Boise says it is one of 13 recipients nationwide.
The award is a financing milestone, not an opening announcement or a construction start. The city's announcement says The Fulton remains in predevelopment, is assembling additional financing and has no anticipated construction schedule. That distinction is central to the news: a substantial federal commitment has moved a longstanding housing proposal closer to delivery, but the complete development plan has not yet reached the point where the city can promise a start date or occupancy date.
Northwest Real Estate Capital Corp. will develop the project on city-owned land near Fire Station 5 in downtown Boise. The city places The Fulton within its land trust program, alongside Wilson Station and The Franklin. The planned homes will be accompanied by supportive services for residents transitioning out of homelessness. The announcement does not provide a resident application schedule, a final rent schedule or an opening date.
HUD describes CoC Builds as a capital-focused funding opportunity that creates new permanent supportive housing through construction, acquisition or rehabilitation. The federal opportunity listing says the housing serves individuals and families experiencing homelessness where one household member has a disability. Most requested funding must support capital work that produces new permanent supportive housing units; the notice also addresses eligible supportive-service and administrative costs.
That structure makes the program different from a general rental assistance announcement. The Boise award supports the development of a physical housing asset, with services forming part of the intended resident model. It is not a citywide voucher allocation or an unrestricted payment to households. The city says the one-time awards are meant to expand supportive housing and strengthen partnerships among housing, health and social-service organizations.
The federal listing for opportunity CPD-2600-DC-025A was last updated June 23, 2026, and closed July 23, 2026. It described $100 million in program funding, an anticipated eight awards and awards ranging from $1 million to $12 million. Those planning figures are not a final award roster. Boise's October announcement says 13 recipients received awards, so the earlier expected-award count should not be substituted for the city's current announcement or treated as proof that Boise's account is inconsistent.
The listing is useful for understanding the federal program, but it does not independently identify The Fulton or establish which notice produced this particular award. Boise's announcement is the source of the $9 million award, recipient count and project designation; a connection to a specific federal competition document is not established.
The federal listing also distinguishes organizational applicants from the residents who may eventually live in a funded development. It lists eligible governmental and nonprofit applicants, including cities, counties, public housing authorities and qualifying nonprofit organizations. Individuals are ineligible to compete for an award under that announcement. A person seeking housing should therefore not be directed to submit a federal CoC Builds grant application as a route to a Fulton apartment.
The listing identifies a matching requirement, another reason the federal award should be viewed as one part of development financing rather than a complete project budget. It does not disclose The Fulton's final matching arrangement. The city's statement that additional financing is still being assembled supplies the project-specific status; the general federal requirement explains why partnerships and a complete financing stack matter without establishing which commitments Boise has secured.
The city's clearest outstanding financing item is its application for Low-Income Housing Tax Credits through the Idaho Housing and Finance Association. The announcement says The Fulton has applied for credits and is putting together the remaining financing. It does not say the tax credits have been awarded. An application is not an allocation, and the presence of the HUD award does not settle that separate decision.
CBS2's October 6 report also describes an earlier $3 million affordable housing award associated with the project. That report adds useful local context, but neither the city announcement nor the news report supplies a complete development budget or final sources-and-uses schedule. The $9 million should not be labeled the total project cost, and it should not be divided by 50 to present a supposed all-in construction cost per home.
For development partners, the relevant next evidence will be the remaining financing commitments and the construction schedule. For residents and service providers, it will be information about referrals, eligibility, service arrangements and the timing of availability. None of those later details can be inferred from the size of the award alone.
Mayor Lauren McLean described the money as bringing the city closer to 50 new homes for vulnerable neighbors. Housing and Community Development Senior Manager Melinda McGoldrick said the award would help move the project from the pipeline toward reality at a time when resources for new housing are limited. Both statements express the importance of the award; neither changes the announcement's explicit predevelopment status.
Boise's announcement ties The Fulton to its land trust program and identifies city-owned land as the site. That provides a concrete local role in addition to the federal capital award: the municipality is contributing a site within an existing housing strategy rather than announcing an unrelated private development.
The source does not specify the final land agreement, affordability term or ownership structure for The Fulton. Readers should not import the legal terms of another Boise land trust property into this project simply because the announcement lists them together. Wilson Station and The Franklin establish the context of the city's program, not a complete contract description for the new development.
The location near downtown Fire Station 5 also places the proposal within an established urban area. CBS2 identifies the planned site near 15th and Front streets, close to Rhodes Skate Park. The city announcement uses the broader Fire Station 5 reference. The reporting does not provide a final approved site plan, so the location should be read as the planned setting rather than a description of finished buildings or a guarantee about their design.
This combination of public land, a nonprofit developer and capital assistance illustrates how a supportive housing project can require several partners before construction begins. The award strengthens one piece of that arrangement. The city has nevertheless preserved the distinction between having a site and a major funding commitment, and having a complete, scheduled construction project.
Local reporting places the award alongside two other Boise projects. CBS2 says New Path 2.0 recently opened with 95 homes for people exiting homelessness, while The Sherwood is under construction with 48 homes designed primarily for families with children exiting homelessness. Those developments are separate from The Fulton's proposed 50 homes.
Their stages matter. An opened project, a project under construction and a project still assembling financing represent different levels of near-term housing availability. Combining their unit counts into a single statement about homes currently available would blur those differences. The Fulton adds to the planned pipeline, but the award does not mean its homes are already usable by people seeking housing today.
CBS2 also cites Ada County's 2026 Point-in-Time Count: 687 people experiencing homelessness on one night, including 95 unsheltered people. Those figures describe the count reported by the local outlet, not a measurement of the number of people The Fulton will house during a year. A single-night homelessness count and a development's unit count are different measures, and the award announcement does not set an occupancy turnover target or predict a reduction in the countywide count.
The October 6 news establishes a new federal funding commitment to The Fulton. It does not establish a new statewide housing rule, an NSPIRE inspection requirement or a resident deadline. No effective date for a regulation is attached to this award announcement. The meaningful dates are the announcement itself and the future financing, construction and leasing milestones that have not yet been set.
A local CoC Builds page maintained by Our Path Home describes a 2025 competition for up to $6 million, with June 2025 application dates. That older page should not be used as current application guidance for the newly announced $9 million award. The federal listing is also closed. Neither source supports telling another applicant that a new competition opened on October 6.
The central result is straightforward: Boise now has a major federal capital award aimed at creating 50 permanent supportive homes on city-owned land. The city has also been clear about the limits of that result. Additional financing is being assembled, a tax-credit application remains part of the plan and a construction schedule has not been announced. Following those remaining steps will give a more reliable picture of when the award becomes housing than treating the announcement as completed delivery.
Boise announced a $9 million HUD Continuum of Care Builds award on October 6 for The Fulton, a planned 50-home permanent supportive housing development.
Northwest Real Estate Capital Corp. will develop the project on city-owned land near Fire Station 5 in downtown Boise, within the city's land trust program.
The Fulton remains in predevelopment. The city says additional financing is being assembled and a Low-Income Housing Tax Credit application has been submitted, not awarded.
No construction or occupancy schedule has been announced. The federal award should not be presented as the project's full budget or as an opening announcement.
Closed federal competition information and an older local 2025 competition are context, not new application deadlines. No new inspection rule or regulatory effective date accompanies this award.
Editorial Desk
The NSPIRE Wire Editorial Desk publishes source-verified reporting and analysis covering HUD policy, NSPIRE inspections, affordable housing finance, development, transactions, and the people shaping the industry.
Know something we should know? Have documents, corrections, or related developments on this topic? Send an editorial tip to our reporters.